Teardrops 02.13.12

Three More Things on Jeremy Lin.

As this article notes, Lin is very adept at running the pick and roll.  I’d imagine that Amare Stoudemire is eager to get back on the hardwood to play with him.  STAT’s ineffectiveness this year can be traced mostly to a failure on the part of the Knicks to run pick and rolls well.

Nate Silver checked in with the “news” that Lin was probably not a fluke.  http://fivethirtyeight.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/02/11/jeremy-lin-is-no-fluke/  Yes, I was pretty convinced of this already, but it’s nice to have statistical rigor behind the notion.

I’m less concerned than most about Lin and Carmelo Anthony working together.  They played together in the New Jersey game on February 4th.  Lin played 36 minutes; ‘Melo played 35.  ‘Melo took 15 shots, which is close to his average.  It’s a small sample size, but it’s better than nothing.

…..

Eric Gordon’s knee absence from a “bruised knee” has lasted so long that I’m beginning to wonder if the Hornets are tanking to both get a better chance in the lottery and perhaps to alienate the constituency and leave town.

…..

After watching the Muskies, er T-Wolves fumble one late game possession after another on Saturday against the Knicks, I am beginning to wonder if they are underplaying their point differential expected won loss (15-13 vs. 13-15 in reality) because they don’t know how to play close games.  Usually the explanation is bad luck, but the Wolves seems plagued by poor execution in the close games I’ve seen them play.

Martin Johnson wrote a weekly NBA column for the New York Sun from 2003-’08, and for http://www.theroot.com from 2008-’10.  His sportswriting has also appeared in the NY Times, Wall St. Journal and the Atlantic Monthly.  

 

 

 

About jmartin437

I've worked in and around the world of high end cheese for 27 years. I've been everything from a department manager who hired and fired and trained staffs to a weekend warrior who shows up ties on an apron the middle of a rush and talks to customers and cleans up the place. I enjoy it all, and I especially like my current situation conducting informal seminars about cheese at area bars and in class at the 92nd St. Y. The current schedule is always up at thejoyofcheese.blogspot.com. In addition I conduct private events that are perfect to lead off birthday parties for foodies and sommeliers and also they make great entertainment for corporate team building events and associates meetings at law firms. In addition, I've been a freelance journalist for 27 years. Currently my profiles of leading musicians and filmmakers appear in the Wall Street Journal and www.theroot.com. I also wrote about sports for the Root, and for five loooong years, which included the entirety of the Isiah Thomas Knicks era, I wrote about the NBA for the New York Sun. I enjoyed writing about basketball so much that I now do it here at rotations for free.
This entry was posted in Chicago Bulls, NBA, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment