Catching Up: So What Happened to This Blog?

The long story short is simple.  I work at a new store, and for a few months we were in what might generous be called Con Edison limbo.  When they finally finished upgrading our power grid, we went into the hurry up offense, which meant fourteen straight days of waking up eating breakfast running to the store, working for 13 or 14 hours, coming home and eating dinner and falling asleep sometimes before doing the dishes.

While we were in limbo I had the delightful situation of drawing paycheck for showing up at meetings twice a week.  I blogged a lot.  Now we’re nearly four weeks since the store opened and I’m kind of at a loss as to when my free time is coming back.  OTOH, some of the thing I’ve blogged about simply aren’t as pressing.

For instance, if it isn’t apparent that the Chicago Bulls are the best team in the NBA, then you simply don’t follow pro basketball very closely or thoughtfully.  With the real Derrick Rose (i.e. not that semblance of D-Rose who played in the OT win vs. Miami on Thursday night) the Bulls are 29-7, an .805 winning percentage.  Without the real Rose, they are 17-7 or a .708 winning percentage, which translates to a 58-24 team in an 82 game season.  Yes, it should boggle your imagination, the Bulls are a 58-24 team *without* the reigning MVP. With him their 82 games stats translate to 66 wins.   The Bulls lead in point differential by more than  a point per game.

The playoffs *are* different and it’s possible that the Bulls depth won’t matter as much then as it does now, but for the time being the Bulls are the best and no one else, not Miami, not OKC, not the rejuvenated Lakers, not San Antonio, are close.

I plan to follow the Cubs closely this season with an eye toward Theo Epstein’s attempt to break a second curse, but it’s too early to know much.  Year 1 of a rebuilding effort is about the unsexiest year a team can have.  I can say this, though, if I have to start spelling Samardzija confidently then that’s a very good sign.

I have absolutely no clue what to make of the Chicago White Sox good start.

Due to work, I haven’t had time to see any movies and I botched a chance to comment on a couple of recordings, new ones by Robert Glasper and Jenny Scheinman, which I may get to soon.  I’m very much digging the Mike Reed People Places and Things jam too.

Also, I’ll introduce a new segment, Life in the 50s, because it’s way different than what I thought it would be.

So as they used to say, stay tuned.

 

About jmartin437

I've worked in and around the world of high end cheese for 27 years. I've been everything from a department manager who hired and fired and trained staffs to a weekend warrior who shows up ties on an apron the middle of a rush and talks to customers and cleans up the place. I enjoy it all, and I especially like my current situation conducting informal seminars about cheese at area bars and in class at the 92nd St. Y. The current schedule is always up at thejoyofcheese.blogspot.com. In addition I conduct private events that are perfect to lead off birthday parties for foodies and sommeliers and also they make great entertainment for corporate team building events and associates meetings at law firms. In addition, I've been a freelance journalist for 27 years. Currently my profiles of leading musicians and filmmakers appear in the Wall Street Journal and www.theroot.com. I also wrote about sports for the Root, and for five loooong years, which included the entirety of the Isiah Thomas Knicks era, I wrote about the NBA for the New York Sun. I enjoyed writing about basketball so much that I now do it here at rotations for free.
This entry was posted in A Stampede or Merely Another Rumble, baseball, basketball, Chicago Bulls, Chicago Cubs, Chicago White Sox, cinema, Film, Jazz, Miami Heat, Music, NBA, Sports, Taking the Bulls by the Numbers, thoughts and musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

