Okay, I Didn’t See That Coming

Hmmm, the Bulls minus Derrick Rose presents some interesting quandaries.
Well as a fan, of course I think Chicago can still win it all.  The team I root for is a projection of my sense of self, and I think nothing will keep me from reaching my goals. And by extension nothing will keep my team from reaching theirs.
As an analyst, it’s a little different.  I look for patterns to create models that might offer a forecast for future performances.  That’s why I was well, bullish on the Bulls prospects.  With Rose, the Bulls performance was at a level of a 67 win team.  Only two teams in our lifetime have played at that level and *not* won a title, the ’72-’73 Celtics and the ’06-’07 Mavericks.
But that’s all out the window now.  The Bulls without Rose played at a level comparable to a 55-27 team. That’s generally not the W-L profile of a team that wins 16 playoff games (eight, sure, 12, maybe).
Of course what goes through my head is will this be the only major injury?  The rosters of the other contenders are full of players who are injury prone:  Andrew Bynum, Manu Ginobili, Dwyane Wade and Chris Paul to name a few.  The Bulls without Rose are better than those teams without those key players, but that’s not their side of the bracket.
So who will win?  I have no idea.  If I had to bet $5, I’d probably bet on San Antonio, but on Saturday night, I’d have put that fiver on Memphis and by week’s end it might be on the Clippers.  I think it’s that wide open.  If the “core talent” teams (i.e. OKC or Miami) stay healthy, maybe they’ll win.  In general though, in a battle between three men and seven, you bet on the seven.  Yeah, that’s how bad the supporting casts of those teams are.  Of them, only Serge Ibaka could start for other playoff teams.  And if one of the core players has a bad night…
That’s why the Mavericks won last year.    I think some team will follow that route this year, but I just don’t know who.
About jmartin437

I've worked in and around the world of high end cheese for 27 years. I've been everything from a department manager who hired and fired and trained staffs to a weekend warrior who shows up ties on an apron the middle of a rush and talks to customers and cleans up the place. I enjoy it all, and I especially like my current situation conducting informal seminars about cheese at area bars and in class at the 92nd St. Y. The current schedule is always up at thejoyofcheese.blogspot.com. In addition I conduct private events that are perfect to lead off birthday parties for foodies and sommeliers and also they make great entertainment for corporate team building events and associates meetings at law firms. In addition, I've been a freelance journalist for 27 years. Currently my profiles of leading musicians and filmmakers appear in the Wall Street Journal and www.theroot.com. I also wrote about sports for the Root, and for five loooong years, which included the entirety of the Isiah Thomas Knicks era, I wrote about the NBA for the New York Sun. I enjoyed writing about basketball so much that I now do it here at rotations for free.
This entry was posted in A Stampede or Merely Another Rumble, Chicago Bulls, Clippers, Lakers, NBA, Sports, Taking the Bulls by the Numbers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Okay, I Didn’t See That Coming

  1. Dan Burkarth says:

    Excellent bio Mr. Johnson. Go Bulls! Go Mavericks !! – Dlb

Leave a Reply

