Me on Camera Twice!!

I’m a very camera shy person, so it was more than a little unusual that I appeared before the lens twice in a week recently.

The first time was on a cable newsmagazine show called Arts in the City. It’s hosted by Carrol Anne Riddell, a former WNBC and NY1 anchor and reporter. She did a segment on the craft beer boom in NYC and I served as the expert talking head. I think it went very well. It’s here.

My second appearance on camera was a bit more personal. A Columbia Journalism School Student did a short documentary on me. The focus was my journalism career and how I maintain it and deal with the frustrations of never quite reaching my ultimate goal, a staff job at a newspaper.

The experience has made me a little less camera shy, I think.

Martin Johnson is a freelance writer whose work on music, sports and culture has appeared in the Wall Street Journal, NPR, Wine Enthusiast, Zagat, Jazz Times, New York Times, Newsday, New York, Vogue, Rolling Stone, Huffington Post, The Root, Slate, The Atlantic, and numerous other publications and websites. He also blogs at Rotations, and he can be contacted at thejoyofcheese@gmail.com.

About jmartin437

I've worked in and around the world of high end cheese for 27 years. I've been everything from a department manager who hired and fired and trained staffs to a weekend warrior who shows up ties on an apron the middle of a rush and talks to customers and cleans up the place. I enjoy it all, and I especially like my current situation conducting informal seminars about cheese at area bars and in class at the 92nd St. Y. The current schedule is always up at thejoyofcheese.blogspot.com. In addition I conduct private events that are perfect to lead off birthday parties for foodies and sommeliers and also they make great entertainment for corporate team building events and associates meetings at law firms. In addition, I've been a freelance journalist for 27 years. Currently my profiles of leading musicians and filmmakers appear in the Wall Street Journal and www.theroot.com. I also wrote about sports for the Root, and for five loooong years, which included the entirety of the Isiah Thomas Knicks era, I wrote about the NBA for the New York Sun. I enjoyed writing about basketball so much that I now do it here at rotations for free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment